Lesson Categories


Language Fluency

English Native
Spanish Daily conversation
Hindi Just a few words
Japanese Just a few words

Tutor States

42
Lessons
31
Students
-
Response
0%
Canceled
Video
Camera
using
over 4 years ago
logged in

Available Times  

May change depending on week.
Shown in Asia/Tokyo time.

Recommendations

Andy B Tutor Profile

This tutor is temporarily unavailable.
Please check back later or contact support for details.

Hello! My name is Andy! I have been teaching English Conversation, SAT prep and Academic Writing throughout Asia (Japan, Vietnam and India) during the last 4 years. I recently worked for KAIS in Tokyo and Nova in Kichijoji, Japan. In High School I took part in a cultural exchange program in Nanao, on the Noto Peninusla in Ishikawa Prefecture, and hosted a Japanese student at my home in California.

I graduated from the University of California, Santa Cruz, in 2007 with a BA in American Studies, and I am currently living in sunny Monterey, CA :)

I spent my first year out of college producing and performing music and touring with a band throughout the United States (www.myspace.com/AstralTravel) before moving to India to teach and work on my import business (www.spiritworldimports.com). I then lived in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam for a couple of years teaching upper level SAT prep and private tutoring for Vietnamese high school students before moving to Japan in 2012 to work at NOVA.

In my free time I study Japanese, practice yoga and meditation, and explore nature on long hikes in the coastal mountains. Someday soon I hope to return to Japan!

I am a dedicated, caring and passionate teacher---your success is my number one goal! While I will keep you focused on your work and make sure to point out your mistakes, I love to laugh and have fun during my lessons! We learn best when we're enjoying ourselves :) I am happy to help with speaking, listening, conversation, writing and sentence correction. I can also help students preparing for the SAT and university application essays. 

I look forward to meeting you and helping you reach your English goals!

Featured Interview

Q. Hi Andy, could you tell us a little bit about yourself! A. Hi there, I’m Andy! I am a 29 year old American living in Yokohama, Japan. I have been traveling all over the world the past 4 years as an English teacher, SAT instructor, bollywood actor, day-trader and musician, but I’ve hopefully settled down for a bit now in Japan. I’ve taught English and test prep courses at 5 different schools in...

This tutor's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Cancellation possible at any time without charge.

After request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Less than 2hours before lesson start time.→ 50% of price charged.
  • No-Show→ 100% of price charged.

Lessons by this tutor

No lessons...

Got a question? Click to Chat