Language Fluency

Englisch Native
Spanisch Native
Japanisch Daily conversation


Master of Science
This qualification has been verified by Cafetalk.

Tutor Stats

Weniger als 3 Stunden
6 days ago
logged in

Mögliche Kurszeiten  

This tutor usually accepts requests up to 12 hours before the desired lesson time
Mo 10:00   17:00
Di 10:00   17:00
Mi 10:00   17:00
Do 10:00   17:00
Fr 10:00   17:00
Sa 10:00   12:00
So 10:00   12:00
Unregelmäßige Änderungen möglich
Shown in Asia/Tokyo time.

Tutor’s Columns

Erfahrungsberichte und interessante Geschichten - direkt von den Cafetalk-Tutoren für die Schüler.
Published 22 Mar, 2020 | View: 260
Staying positive in difficult times.   Considering everything that is going in our world and...
Published 29 May, 2019 | View: 660
I just came back from a wonderful trip to Guam so I wanted to take this opportunity to recommend it...
When learning a new language is very important to make mistakes. These mistakes specially when spea...
Published 10 Apr, 2019 | View: 824
New York is a wonderful city. I lived in New York for almost 30 years. It is a city that has so muc...

Hernan Tutorenprofil



My profile:


My name is Hernan (エルナン) I moved to Tokyo from New York City in January 2019. Thank you for taking the time to look at my profile!


A little bit about me


I lived in New York City for almost 30 years. I spent my childhood in Ecuador so I am a bilingual native speaker of English and Spanish.

I have a master’s degree in exercise science from the University of California in Pennsylvania. I am certified English teacher from Hunter College in NYC where I obtained my TESOL certificate (teaching English to students of other languages).

I am currently teaching English at an Elementary school here in Tokyo and I am really enjoying it. I love my children in class, I want them to learn well and I hope I can make it as fun as possible for them.

I have been a professional fitness trainer for most of my working life. I had my own training company in Upper East Side of Manhattan called Clinical Exercise and Fitness. Most of my clients needed exercise not only for health and fitness but also for rehabilitation. Teaching comes naturally to me and during my work as a trainer and teacher I always enjoyed my time with people. Watching my students improve and get better is a source of great satisfaction for me. I am also studying Japanese so I have a thorough understanding of the challenges of learning a new language.


My interests and hobbies


Being healthy and physically fit is very important to me. I enjoy strength training, weight lifting, swimming, running and hiking.


I enjoy learning Japanese martial arts. I practiced Judo through high school and college. I studied Kokushi-ryu Jujutsu in NYC and was recently promoted to Shodan, black belt. 


I like mediation, I am always reading and contemplating any philosophy that improves the human condition.



What are my lessons like?


  • I love teaching! My lessons are professional and cordial, my aim is to help you achieve your goals with the English language.
  • I strive to make classes fun and interactive. I provide lots of encouragement along with corrections in a positive manner within a supportive environment.  
  • I’m excited when my students show improvement! I like answering questions and I encourage them. 
  • Making mistakes is an important aspect of learning. In fact, making mistakes is the best way to learn. The more mistakes you make the better because that is when you are learning. Please feel free to make mistakes, there is no pressure :)
  • I have a student centered approach to teaching. This means that everything I do from preparing for the lesson to conducting the class is done with the student’s goals in mind. 
  • I take a personal interest in the student which allows me to better understand what is needed. I bring to all my students patience, kindness, understanding and an ability to listen and to see things from the student’s perspective. 
  • My multicultural experience allows me to understand people of different backgrounds. It has help me teach with a flexible mind and a problem solving attitude that helps students achieve their goals.  


What will I teach?


  • English conversation for beginners, intermediate and advanced students.
  • Spanish conversation for beginners or anyone interested in improving their Spanish.


Thank you again for taking the time to read my introduction. I hope that you will consider taking one of my lessons; I know that it will be a most productive and enjoyable experience for you!


Looking forward to meeting you!

Cafetalk Rücktrittsregelung

Vor der Bestätigung einer Kursbuchung

  • Stornierung jederzeit möglich

Nach der Bestätigung einer Kursbuchung

  • Mehr als 24 Stunden vor Kursbeginn→ Stornierung jederzeit möglich
  • Weniger als 24 Stunden vor Kursbeginn→ Stornogebühren können anfallen.
  • No-Show→ Stornogebühren können anfallen.
    (Der Betrag kann je nach TutorIn variieren. Bitte nimm Kontakt mit Deiner Tutorin/ Deinem Tutor auf.)

Alle Kurse von dieser/m TutorIn

All Lessons

Got a question? Click to Chat