Lesson Categories


Language Fluency

English Native
Japanese Just a few words
Korean Just a few words

Certificates

Master of Arts
TEFL
Bachelor of Arts
TEFL-C
This qualification has been verified by Cafetalk.

Tutor Stats

1183
Lessons
368
Students
Less than 4 hours
Response
0.3%
Canceled
NDA
accepted
Video
Camera
using
17 hours ago
logged in

Available Times  

This tutor usually accepts requests up to 12 hours before the desired lesson time
Tue 08:00   10:00
Wed 08:00   10:00
Thu 08:00   10:00
Fri 08:00   10:00
Sat 08:00   10:00
Sat 20:30   22:30
Sun 08:00   10:00
Actual availability may differ. Please check when you make a request.
Shown in Asia/Tokyo time.

Tutor’s Columns

Columns from this tutor to Cafetalk students.
 
Published 2 Jun, 2020 | View: 542
English
Once when I was about 5 years old, my cousin asked me if I wanted a pop. I thought that she was ask...
 
Published 27 May, 2020 | View: 592
English
My life philosophy is that we are all one. As individuals, we are part of a much larger community. ...
Published 14 Mar, 2020 | View: 1016
Due to school closings in my area due to the coronavirus, I have some extra hours available for eve...
Published 2 Jan, 2020 | View: 1488
Happy New Year! I hope that 2020 has been going well for you so far. Here are some changes that you...
 
Published 1 Jan, 2020 | View: 1526
Happy New Year! On New Year's Eve, I had a simple party with some friends. We played board gam...

General Notices

LindaN Tutor Profile


Hello there! Welcome to Linda's Cafetalk Profile! 
I'm an American living in North Carolina, USA. I'm an English teacher that has been working with English learners since 2012. 



My Education & Training
  • Master's in Teaching English as a Second Language 
  • TEFL Certificate 
  • Teaching License for grades kindergarten-12th grade
  • Bachelor in English with a focus in professional writing
Teaching in Korea, Japan, and China 

The first year I ever taught English abroad was in South Korea. While in Korea, I taught 30-35 classes each week for elementary and middle school students.

After that, I taught English to students of all ages in Japan for 2 years. During this time, I taught 50-60 classes a week for preschoolers, kindergarteners, elementary, junior high, senior high, and adult students. 

After that,  I taught English Shanghai, China for 1 year. At this job, I taught students one-on-one. Mostly, I worked with children and teens ages 5 to 15. I also taught conversational and business English to adults. 



Teaching in the USA

Currently, I teach English as a Second Language at a middle school in the United States. I work with students one-on-one and in small groups.

In the past, I also taught English as a second language at an elementary school. I worked with kindergarten through fifth grade students. 

As an ESL teacher, I help students improve their reading, writing, grammar, speaking, and listening skills in English. I work with many students who are new to the United States. I also work with students who speak English fairly well, but still need help with reading and writing.

My Teaching Philosphy 

Learning a new language is a long process! It takes patience, time, and dedicated practice to become a great English speaker. For these reasons, learning needs to be enjoyable and engaging for all students. 

Above all, I think learning English should be an enjoyable and deeply rewarding experience for all students. I truly enjoy teaching students of all ages from young children to adults. 

What My Classes are Like 
  • Fun and engaging! 
  • Laid-back and relaxing
  • Thoughtful feedback and suggestions for self-study
  • Designed with your interests and level in mind
More About Me

My hobbies are reading novels, watching movies, hiking, yoga, cooking, and baking. I also like to travel, try new foods, learn about other cultures, and spend time with family and friends. 

I'm studying Chinese Mandarin and Spanish at the moment. I still remember a little Korean and Japanese from when I lived in these countries.





Thanks for taking the time to read my profile! See you in class!

Featured Interview

Q. Hi LindaN! Would you kindly give a brief self-introduction to the Cafetalk community? A. Hello there! My name is Linda. I currently live in my hometown of Raleigh, North Carolina. Before coming back home, I traveled around a lot. I about four years living in South Korea, Japan, and China. I've also traveled in Europe and Australia. In university, I studied English. I was interested in travelin...

Cafetalk's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Cancellation possible at any time without charge.

After request is confirmed (fixed)

  • More than 24 hours before lesson start time.→ Cancellation is possible at any time.
  • Less than 24 hours before lesson start time.→ The tutor may take a cancellation fee.
  • No-Show→ The tutor may take a cancellation fee.
    (Please check with the tutor for details.)

Lessons by this tutor

Got a question? Click to Chat