Lesson Categories


Language Fluency

Polish Native
German Near-Native
English Near-Native

Certificates

Master of Arts
Certified Language Teacher
Ph.D Summa cum laude
This qualification has been verified by Cafetalk.

Tutor Stats

85
Lessons
27
Students
-
Response
0%
Canceled
NDA
accepted
Video
Camera
using
over 4 years ago
logged in

Available Times  

This tutor usually accepts requests up to 24 hours before the desired lesson time
Tue 21:00 Wed 02:00
Thu 21:00 Fri 02:00
May change depending on week.
Shown in Asia/Tokyo time.
This tutor is temporarily unavailable.
Please check back later or contact support for details.

Hello! My name is Elzbieta but everybody calls me Ella. Though originally I’m from Poland, I’ve lived in Germany for over 11 years now and am officially a German citizen J. I currently live in the beautiful city of Heidelberg with my American boyfriend and a grumpy cat named Kira.  

 


EXPERIENCE

After studying German and English at the University of Warsaw and later in Heidelberg (Black Forest), I moved to Bavaria to teach English literature at the university level and finished my PhD in contemporary British drama. Altogether, I have over 10 years experience teaching English and a few years experience teaching German.                     

 

Though my main expertise is teaching academic English, I also immensely enjoy teaching English and German for more day-to-day use, as it allows me to be even more creative in designing activities to help you improve your language skills, and let’s be honest, it’s simply so much more fun!

 

WHERE WE WANT TO GO

My main goal is to make you feel comfortable speaking a foreign language, be it English or German, in spite of missing a word or two or not having perfect pronunciation from the very beginning. It’s often been my experience that students frequently refuse to say anything in class for fear of making mistakes, which, I always thought, was such a missed opportunity to get better.

 

As Samuel Beckett once said:

“Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.”                        

 

HOW WE’LL GET THERE

What I try to do during my lessons, therefore, is to unlock your linguistic potential by:

 

  • activating the language skills and knowledge you already have but which may be a bit rusty
  • showing you how much you can already do with what you’ve got
  • and of course by building on that in line with your individual needs and interests             

Though I’m very serious when it comes to assisting you in your language studies, I truly believe that lessons should also be entertaining – after all, laughter and fun are the best motivators!                                      

If possible, I always try to accommodate your wishes and adjust the content of your lessons accordingly, so please don’t hesitate to tell me about them!

 

LOVES:

Books (‘high’ and ‘low’ lit.), theatre, modern dance, modern art, philosophy, cinema, cats and dogs, biking, jogging, swimming and boating, and most recently, to my great surprise: cooking and baking.

 

HATES:

Parsley and mosquitos!

 

Thanks for visiting my profile and hope to talk to you soon!

 

Ella

 

 

 

This tutor's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Cancellation possible at any time without charge.

After request is confirmed (fixed)

  • Less than 1hours before lesson start time.→ 50% of price charged.
  • No-Show→ 100% of price charged.

Lessons by this tutor

No lessons...

Got a question? Click to Chat