Let the world spice up your life.

Hiromi's Tutor Profile

Category: Language | English
This tutor is currently on leave.

Profile  


Hello,

I am originally from Nagoya and moved to Chiba to go to a collage in Tokyo.  After graduation, I moved to Santa Monica to go to Santa Monica City Collage.

I used to love rollerblading at Santa Monica Beach and Venice Beach all day on weekends...

But then I had to move to Northern California.  I have been in Nor Cal for 15 years.  I currently live near San Francisco with my husband and my baby, Mochi (yorkie poo).

People always ask me how I leanrned English when I was in Japan. 
I loved Madonna and Michael Jackson, then Guns N' Roses, so I wanted to know what their lyrics meant.   I also memorized all the lyrics, which helped me to gain vocabulary. 

For listening practice, I used to listen to American Top 40 on the radio.  A DJ on the show used to read letters from listeners and I recorded the show to listen to them until I could write down every word in those letters.  Ah, I still remember my first Walkman...

Anyway, I proactively searched opportunities to practice English.  Once I moved to Tokyo, I had a lot of chances to talk to Foreigners, which helped me to learn English even faster.

By the time I moved to Santa Monica, I was not afraid to talk to people in English.  Then, my English improved tremendously.

So don't be afraid to talk to me in English!  Don't worry about making mistakes if you want to improve your English. Once you feel comfortable talking in English, you will can worry about grammar later.
 

Supporter's voice | What's a Supporter?

ネイティブに近い英語でした。たくさん英語で話せるよう工夫してくださいました。そして、言いたくても言えない表現の時に、助け舟を出してくれるので、そういう意味では日本人だと細かいニュアンスも伝えやすかったです。

This tutor's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)
• Cancelation possible at any time without charge.
After request is confirmed (fixed)
• Less than 24hours before lesson start time.→ 50% of price charged.
No-Show→ 100% of price charged.
New Students Welcome!

All lessons by this tutor  

留学などから帰って来てとにかく英語力が下がらないようにしたいという方のためのレッスンです。 仕事の愚痴、週末楽しかった事等、友達と会った...

中級以上。料理や絵、旅行、車などの趣味、ペットなど好きな事を英語で話しましょう〜。 仕事の愚痴、週末楽しかった事等、友達と会った時に普通...

Feedback from students (6)  

See all feedback for this tutor→

Hiromi

Hiromi


From:   In:

Category taught

Japanese Native
English Near-Native

21

23

-

0%

Last Login: 3 months ago

* This tutor is not public.

Available Times  

Tue 08:00   10:00
Wed 08:00   10:00
Thu 08:00   10:00
Sat 08:30   10:00

Shown in Asia/Tokyo time. Will show in your timezone when you log in.

Got a question? Click to Chat