Let the world spice up your life.

Paolo Lodi's Tutor Profile

Category: Language | Italian

Next Available Slot  

General notices  

more→

Profile  

Read in
Ciao a tutti! みんなさん、こんにちは!
My name is Paolo and I'm an Italian and Japanese language teacher. I'm also a translator and an interpreter and I work with 3 languages (Italian, English, Japanese).

About me
I'm from Rome, the capital of Italy, I have studied in Rome and Osaka, and now I live in London, UK.
I'm generally shy, but still a good-mannered, open minded and very understanding person. I want my lessons to be fun!
I like movies and tv series, nature, hiking, travelling.

About teaching
What I love about teaching is that I get to share my knowledge of this beautiful language, Italian and it's something very fulfilling to me. Being passionate about languages and linguistics, and having studied foreign languages since I was very young, I became very self-aware about my native language and now can put all of that passion into my lessons.

As for my teaching style: I'm very easy going and not strict at all - why would I be? I am a very patient teacher always keen on what I'm doing and ready to meet my student(s)' needs. As a matter of fact, a teacher, a tutor, should not be considered as an omniscient and superior being, but rather as someone on the same level of the student, who can share their knowledge and help the student in his/her active learning. In fact, it's not "me teaching you", but rather "you learning with my help"!

Furthermore, please note that if you are a native of Italian, English or Japanese (according to the language you're studying), I will be able to offer a more accurate service since I'm familiar with your linguistical line of reasoning and your mistakes will be more easily detected, understood, explained and eventually prevented. This doesn't mean I will take lessons in your language, though: I will try to speak only Italian, otherwise you wouldn't learn anything more than what's on your textbooks! I can explain in your language for the first beginner lessons and, in case of need, for some complicated terms or grammar rules, but I'll do my best to stop using it quickly and give lessons in Italian only. On the other hand, if you speak English but it's not your mother tongue, I won't use it during my lessons because adding the 3rd language would be completely unnecessary and, most of all, dangerous to your learning mechanisms!

About my lessons
Materials: I am very flexible but most students generally end up letting me choose the materials or just trying my original custom made lessons. I own a large variety of textbooks, so sometimes I may also pick a lesson out of one of them, integrate it with some additional material or activity created by me and that's it (whether we will keep using that book or not, is up to the student's reaction). Sometimes I even have an idea during the first approach with the student, I explain it to them, and if they like it I develop the idea into an original lesson just for them! Also, I try to always include Italian cultural information and to cover all 4 language main skills (listening, reading, speaking, writing). I give homework most of the times (exercises and essays I thoroughly correct).

Preferences: Since Cafetalk lessons are not my only job, I would really appreciate it if you could take seriously and respect my lessons and my time. Therefore:
- Please, show up on time for each lesson, and possibly make sure you're ready (for example, prepare your materials, go to a silent environment where you are alone, check your internet connection, etc). I will send a message before calling you to make sure you're all set.
- In case of a no-show or sudden cancellation (less than 12 hours before the lesson), as stated by my cancellation policy, I will take 100% of the points for a variety of reasons I'm sure you will comprehend. (i.e. other students could not request lessons during the time you booked, I cancelled my other plans for you, I prepared a lesson just for you - which takes 2 to 3 hours of my time and believe me, a lot of creativity and effort, etc). Although, if I deem it appropriate, I may issue a 100% discount coupon in order to allow you to recover your missed lesson, so don't be scared! :)
- If you have any specific idea or request please do not hesitate to tell me before any lesson! I will do my best to fulfil your wishes! Also, if you are new, I would appreciate it if you could send a brief self-introduction along with your first lesson request!
- Leave a feedback, please! Even if it's not 100% positive, it is very important for me to know about your opinion in order to improve myself, thanks!



Thank you to each one of you and I'm really looking forward to studying with you! Ciao!

This tutor's cancellation policy

Before request is confirmed (fixed)
• Cancelation possible at any time without charge.
After request is confirmed (fixed)
• Less than 12hours before lesson start time.→ 100% of price charged.
• Between 12-24hours before lesson start time.→ 50% of price charged.
No-Show→ 100% of price charged.
New Students Welcome!

All lessons by this tutor  

Conversazione italiana

30min 1,400P

Skype Lesson

Italian conversation

Grammar for beginners 2 (Lesson Pack)

45min 8,000P

Skype Lesson
Pack of 4 (2,000 Points per lesson)

イタリア語文法(パックレッスン)

イタリア語会話

30min 1,200P

Skype Lesson

会話のみ。正し発音チェック。

Grammar for beginners

20min 1,000P

Skype Lesson

Grammar for everyone

Italian for beginner

50min 2,500P

Skype Lesson

Feedback from students  

There is no feedback for this tutor (yet)

Paolo Lodi

Paolo Lodi


From:   In:

Category taught

Italian Native
Japanese Near-Native
English Fluent
Portuguese Proficient

3

4

Less than 3 hours

0%

Last Login: 3 days ago

Available Times  

Mon 15:00   20:00
Tue 04:00   07:30
Tue 15:00   20:00
Wed 04:00   07:30
Wed 15:00   20:00
Thu 04:00   07:30
Thu 15:00   20:00
Fri 04:00   07:30
Fri 15:00   20:00
Sat 04:00   07:30
Sat 15:00 Sun 07:30
Sun 15:00 Mon 07:30

Shown in Asia/Tokyo time. Will show in your timezone when you log in.

Got a question? Click to Chat